This is a photograph of an early meeting of the new Council taken in 1962 at the 16th International Horticultural Congress at Brussels which shows - round the table clockwise - some of the early members including

Wybo van der Zweep [1] (Netherlands; in the middle), Robert Longchamp [2] (France), Nicolai  Sarpe [3] (Romania), Birger Granström [4] (Sweden), Torstein Vidme [5] (Norway), NN [6], Ken Woodford [7] (UK), NN [8], Jaakko Mukula [9] (Finland), NN [10], NN [11]  Jos Stryckers  (Belgium)